Candy Molds For Fondant/gumpaste?

Decorating By KATHIESKREATIONS Updated 6 Mar 2011 , 3:03am by VickeyC

KATHIESKREATIONS Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KATHIESKREATIONS Posted 2 Feb 2010 , 11:17pm
post #1 of 12

I have a lot of clear plastic candy molds & was wondering if anyone has ever used them to make fondant/gumpaste figures. etc. with to use for decorating your cakes & if so, what were your results? I am new to using gumpaste, so any tips for using them would be greatly appreciated.

11 replies
idgalpal Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
idgalpal Posted 2 Feb 2010 , 11:24pm
post #2 of 12

I bet you could use them - maybe pop them in the freezer for a minute before trying to unmold them.

mamawrobin Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mamawrobin Posted 3 Feb 2010 , 12:00am
post #3 of 12

I have used them before, I just dusted them lightly with cornstarch before using.

pattycakesnj Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pattycakesnj Posted 3 Feb 2010 , 12:04am
post #4 of 12

I use them all the time for gumpaste and fondant, that is what I bought them for, not candy. I just grease very lightly with crisco, pop in the freezer for a few minutes and out they pop.

adree313 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
adree313 Posted 3 Feb 2010 , 12:54am
post #5 of 12

I've done it a lot, too. I don't put anything in them but the gumpaste (no corn starch or crisco). Works like a charm.

KATHIESKREATIONS Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KATHIESKREATIONS Posted 3 Feb 2010 , 2:50am
post #6 of 12

icon_biggrin.gif Thank you all so much! I only make candy for the holidays now & thought, why not see if I could use all these molds for something else..... icon_rolleyes.gif

mamawrobin Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mamawrobin Posted 3 Feb 2010 , 2:53am
post #7 of 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by adree313

I've done it a lot, too. I don't put anything in them but the gumpaste (no corn starch or crisco). Works like a charm.