Fondant Or Modelling Chocolate?

Decorating By tori808 Updated 3 Feb 2010 , 9:10pm by kitty122000

tori808 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tori808 Posted 2 Feb 2010 , 1:29am
post #1 of 14

I'm a newbie, but have been asked to make a canoe cake. My plan is to make a rice krispie canoe on an ocean themed cake. The shows seem to have the top chefs covering their RCT creations in both fondant and modelling chocolate. Is there any benefit to using one over the other?
Please help, this is for next weekend and I am clueless! icon_confused.gif

13 replies
BlakesCakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BlakesCakes Posted 2 Feb 2010 , 2:22am
post #2 of 14

The best benefit I see is that you can completely smooth out seams on modeling chocolate.
Modeling chocolate sticks to itself, so you don't need water or any other type of glue to stick pieces together.

Rae

msulli10 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
msulli10 Posted 2 Feb 2010 , 2:34am
post #3 of 14

where do you buy modeling chocolate?

tori808 Posted 2 Feb 2010 , 7:01pm
post #4 of 14

So there isn't any difference in say, the weight or difficulty, that would favor one over the other? I just started working with modelling chocolate so I am still getting used to the feel. My canoe is about 18 inches long, its going to sit on two 12 by 18 sheet cakes, so I am not sure if the size matters. I know the chocolate will defintely taste better! Thanks for the reply!
msulli10, I have been using the recipe posted on the wilton website for their choc melts, I believe they call it candy clay. I am sure there are much better recipes out there!

msulli10 Posted 2 Feb 2010 , 10:27pm
post #5 of 14

Thanks, but I think chocolate clay is different than modeling chocolate.

cgm_cakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cgm_cakes Posted 2 Feb 2010 , 11:37pm
post #6 of 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by msulli10

My understanding is it's just 2 different names for the same thing.

BlakesCakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile