My First Real Competition

Decorating By Rylan Updated 29 Jan 2010 , 11:17pm by EvMarie

Rylan Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Rylan Posted 25 Jan 2010 , 8:59pm
post #1 of 23

I'm planning on joining the San Diego Cake Show. It will be my first competition and I really have no idea what to expect. I feel so intimidated by looking at the pictures from the past years.

Anyways, I will be flying and will be checking parts of my cake in. I was wondering if anyone could give me any tips on how to package them safely (they will all be dummies of course).

Anyone have an experience with competition cakes being transported by plane?

At the same time, I'll use this as a chance to enjoy San Diego (it's my first time there) with my partner. I'll lean toward the vacation part so if I don't even place, I won't feel that bad.

22 replies
psmith Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
psmith Posted 25 Jan 2010 , 9:06pm
post #2 of 23

No advice (I'm new to cake decorating) but I just wanted to say that I've seen your cakes and I think the competition should be worried. Your cakes are FANTASTIC! icon_wink.gif

LaBellaFlor Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LaBellaFlor Posted 25 Jan 2010 , 9:09pm
post #3 of 23

Nope, but I wanted to say don't worry. You'll know you'll do fine.

CakesbyCindi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CakesbyCindi Posted 25 Jan 2010 , 9:09pm
post #4 of 23

I too have no advice on transporting, just wanted to wish you luck, you will blow them away, your cakes are awesome!

Rylan Posted 25 Jan 2010 , 9:17pm
post #5 of 23

Thank you for the wishes. It just get really nervous especially that this is my first. I'm not even sure if the cake will make it there without any problems. So any tips would be great.

LaBellaFlor Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LaBellaFlor Posted 25 Jan 2010 , 9:26pm
post #6 of 23