Edible Image ?

Decorating By lecrn Updated 26 Jan 2010 , 1:01am by icingimages

lecrn Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lecrn Posted 25 Jan 2010 , 7:57pm
post #1 of 7

I'm planning on buying an edible image @ a local bakery & I've never worked with them before (kind of nervous).
The cake is for this Sat. If I pick the image up on Wed., will it stay fresh if I keep it in a ziplock bag?
The image will be placed on a crusting bc cake & would normally not need to be refrigerated. Does the cake need to be placed in the fridge or covered after the image is applied? Can it be placed on the cake the day before or will it dry out?
Also, what type of image is best to copy? The image that I have is just a color copy off the computer.
Thanks so much!!

6 replies
lecrn Posted 25 Jan 2010 , 10:07pm
post #2 of 7

anyone, please?

cakesbybert Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakesbybert Posted 25 Jan 2010 , 10:28pm
post #3 of 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by lecrn

I'm planning on buying an edible image @ a local bakery & I've never worked with them before (kind of nervous).
The cake is for this Sat. If I pick the image up on Wed., will it stay fresh if I keep it in a ziplock bag?
The image will be placed on a crusting bc cake & would normally not need to be refrigerated. Does the cake need to be placed in the fridge or covered after the image is applied? Can it be placed on the cake the day before or will it dry out?
Also, what type of image is best to copy? The image that I have is just a color copy off the computer.
Thanks so much!!

Yes it will stay fresh in the zip lock bag.

Does not need refrigerated, better not too - less risk of condensation.

Yes can be applied to the cake the day before. Does not dry out - it should mend with icing. If you icing is too dry (crusted) you will need to lightly mist it with water. And I do mean LIGHTLY and with a MIST - too much water will break down the image. Best is to apply to icing before it crusts.