Spackle Under Fondant?

Decorating By Mug-a-Bug Updated 27 Jan 2010 , 4:57pm by ruthi

Mug-a-Bug Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Mug-a-Bug Posted 25 Jan 2010 , 2:36am
post #1 of 20

I'm about to get my hands back in some fondant icon_rolleyes.gif

I'm a recent fan of spackle under bc. Can I use spackle under fondant? Do I need a crumbcoat over that? Thanks for reading icon_biggrin.gif

19 replies
Elise87 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Elise87 Posted 26 Jan 2010 , 4:57am
post #2 of 20

I had read a post on here a little while ago about spackle and so would also like to know the answer to your question too

If it has a very fine crumb and is not lumpy and feels just like icing when you eat it can you just put fondant straight ontop of it? Or do you still need a thin coat of buttercream to help smooth it?......Is that what you mean?
Sorry i'm still learning about cake spackle lol

agconner Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
agconner Posted 26 Jan 2010 , 5:31am
post #3 of 20

Ok you have my attention, what is cake spackle? I have never heard of this, and if it is something to help me get my cakes smoother I would LOVE to know what it is and just how you do it. Thanks in advance!!!

Elise87 Posted 26 Jan 2010 , 5:33am
post #4 of 20
agconner Posted 26 Jan 2010 , 5:52am
post #5 of 20

So pretty much you just mix your cake scraps with some buttercream and then ice the cake? What a great idea. So gonna try this on my next cake this friday!!

Elise87 Posted 26 Jan 2010 , 5:53am
post #6 of 20

yeh i think that's pretty much it lol I want to try and just ice with that under fondant cose it sounds really yummy and something different to just buttercream lol

agconner Posted 26 Jan 2010 , 5:57am
post #7 of 20