Procrastinating Writing My Business Plan...

Business By mom2spunkynbug Updated 25 Jan 2010 , 7:52pm by mom2spunkynbug

mom2spunkynbug Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mom2spunkynbug Posted 24 Jan 2010 , 8:15pm
post #1 of 6

I am currently a licensed home baker & want to get a store front. Right now I am turning away a LOT of potential customers because I simply do not have the time or room to take on all these orders!

Anyway, I went online (I think sometime last summer) to start to look up how to write a business plan. I know I will need to go to a bank & ask for money.

Well writing a business plan is a LOT more than I thought! I started it last summer, but haven't really committed to finish working on it. I showed it to my mom (who did one herself a few years ago & has a different business out of her home) and she gave me some tips and pointers.

Dh keeps bugging me asking if I am working on it! Ok, well in between trying to keep my current business running, working as a cake decorating instructor at Michael's, bringing our two kids everywhere, keeping house, etc....um, NO I haven't worked on it! I actually kind of dread it! I need quiet time, and a lot of time, so I can think clearly and research things online!

So I know I need to commit myself to doing this (and now would be the perfect time because it's my "slow" time)...when I do commit to doing this, how long (about) do you think it should take me to finish?

I also have a question about rent...but I'm going to make another post about that...

5 replies
CakeForte Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CakeForte Posted 24 Jan 2010 , 8:23pm
post #2 of 6

It will finish when you decide to make time for it and work on it.

If you have to plan two hours three times a week to focus on it...then that's what you have to do. Break it down into tiny pieces.