Kids Cake Flavors??

Decorating By jimjessglenn Updated 15 Oct 2010 , 10:32pm by fruitsnack

jimjessglenn Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jimjessglenn Posted 22 Jan 2010 , 8:32pm
post #1 of 17

im new to all of this..the forum and cake decorating. I only make cakes as a hobby and usually just for the little ones in my family.

I am hoping to get away from the basic cake flavors and try new ones. Any suggestions for flavors that kids would love??

16 replies
costumeczar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
costumeczar Posted 22 Jan 2010 , 10:06pm
post #2 of 17

I asked my kids, and they said maybe strawberry or coconut? They also like caramel and banana together, like a banana split.

Deb_ Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Deb_ Posted 22 Jan 2010 , 10:47pm
post #3 of 17

I get a lot of requests for my cookies and cream cake for kids parties. It's basically a double chocolate cake with cookies and cream buttercream filling iced in chocolate ganache.

Another favorite is reeses peanut butter cake/filling. Kids love chocolate and peanut butter together.

Madiken Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Madiken Posted 22 Jan 2010 , 10:53pm
post #4 of 17

I've tried different things and I have found that kids usually either want vanilla, chocolate, or marble. I have a double choclate fudge cake that is popular. To make the vanilla cake more fun, I will often color the batter with the birthday girl or boys favorite color. I am also going to try throwing in some chocolate chips to the vanilla cake for my daughters birthday. I always put them in my chocolate cake and the kids love them so I thought I'd see how it goes with the chocolate chips in the vanilla cake.

indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 22 Jan 2010 , 10:55pm
post #5 of 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by costumeczar

I asked my kids,

that's my suggestion also. You may be surprised to find they actually LIKE plain 'ole white or chocolate cake! icon_rolleyes.gif