Taste Tests.

Decorating By Bel_Anne Updated 23 Jan 2010 , 3:06am by jammjenks

Bel_Anne Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Bel_Anne Posted 22 Jan 2010 , 11:24am
post #1 of 7

I've been trawling the forums but can't find this topic addressed... Although i'm sure it has been, haha. I have no patience to sift through 500+ pages!

So, how do you pro's go about taste tests for wedding consultations? Do you have all of your flavours pre-baked and frozen... ready to thaw when you have a consultation? Or do you bake fresh every time? Also, do you ask what flavours they'd like to try... or just let them try everything you have? Thanks in advance for any replies.. I'm hoping to get into wedding cakes eventually and this part has me stumped. icon_smile.gif

6 replies
butterflygrooves Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
butterflygrooves Posted 22 Jan 2010 , 7:49pm
post #2 of 7

I am not a pro by any means but this is what I do...

I send my flavor list to my clients and tell them to choose 3 cake/filling/icing combinations. If they ask to taste more than 3, I will go up to 5 flavors (such is the case with the bride doing her tasting tomorrow). The # of cakes they try also depends on how big their cake will be.

I bake the cakes and assemble the evening prior to the tasting. I make 6"rounds and since most brides bring the Maid of Honor or Mother to the tasting, I will send the remainder of the cakes home for the groom to taste.

This is my way of doing a tasting, it might not be everyones cup of tea but it's booked quite a few cakes for me.

icon_biggrin.gif

brincess_b Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
brincess_b Posted 22 Jan 2010 , 8:16pm
post #3 of 7

try looking through the business forum, it is usually discussed there. also usually the search would be for consultations.
some people charge, some dont. just think about the effort you put in. keep track of the results! and the no shows....