Using Cake Mixes From Boxes

Decorating By SallyBratt Updated 24 Jan 2010 , 2:03am by JanH

Ginni Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Ginni Posted 22 Jan 2010 , 6:54pm
post #151 of 282

I am glad you did start this discussion. I didn't realize how many people use box mixes and now I don't feel bad about it because I am not the only one who does it. People love my cakes. I love my cakes. They are not only paying for the cake itself but for what I do to the cake. I would put my cakes up to a taste test against any bride who doesn't like boxed mixes. No, boxed mixes don't have premium ingredients, but if they taste the same, I don't see a difference in them. I know people may disagree. I understand their stance about business. I disagree with them. I don't have to advertise my cakes. People just seem to come to me. That tells me that I must be doing something right. I am still learning about business. I actually started a post a few weeks ago about a brownie order where I got taken to the cleaners. I'm not saying I know anything about business and that proves it (although I did learn my lesson). I just don't see why everyone is getting so upset. We do things different. And it is all good.

CeeTee Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CeeTee Posted 22 Jan 2010 , 6:58pm
post #152 of 282

This is when the "scratch vs box" always takes a turn for the worse...when the scratch bakers heavily imply that it takes no skill, less time, and no effort to use a mix than from scratch.

Lissete makes a valid point, she just didn't use the right example. Using a box is parallel to having your basic dry ingredients (flour, sugar, and leavening) pre-mixed for you. That's it.