Just Starting - Basic Tools??

Decorating By Spectra Updated 17 Jan 2010 , 1:25am by Spectra

Spectra Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Spectra Posted 14 Jan 2010 , 7:59pm
post #1 of 15

Hey everyone, I'm extremely new at all this, and for now want to focus on making cakes and cupcakes using BC and Fondant. All I have currently is the basic 8inch round pans, which I've had forever, and the plain old cupcake pans. So starting out, what would be good to purchase? In regards to icing tools, cake tools, decorating tools.

And just a curious question as we are moving into a new home this coming summer... What oven is best, or does it matter, convection oven or regular??

Thanks!

14 replies
baycheeks1 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
baycheeks1 Posted 14 Jan 2010 , 8:13pm
post #2 of 15

It's good to have Icing spatulas...the metal ones...in different sizes...
A good quality icing bag...actually more then one...
A torting tool...

I know more will come, but thats all I can think of for now...

FlourPots Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
FlourPots Posted 15 Jan 2010 , 12:55am
post #3 of 15

My new favorite tool is a foam roller purchased at Home Depot for less than 10 bucks, it's for smoothing (crusting) buttercream...it works and it's fast!

You can read more about it here: http://cakecentral.com/cake-decorating-ftopict-658118-.html

and here: http://cakecentral.com/articles/126/quick-easy-smooth-icing-using-a-roller-melvira-method

KellzNZ Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KellzNZ Posted 15 Jan 2010 , 1:18am
post #4 of 15

Ohhh me too, though I have a little more on hand than the OP, I still need a lot! I will be interested to read what is suggested! icon_biggrin.gif

artscallion Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
artscallion Posted 15 Jan 2010 , 2:31am
post #5 of 15

Check your pans. Are they 1 1/2" high, with slanted sides? You'll want 2" high pans with straight sides.