Need Ideas...drawing A Blank.

Decorating By Oklahomasweetie Updated 14 Jan 2010 , 10:45pm by Oklahomasweetie

Oklahomasweetie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Oklahomasweetie Posted 13 Jan 2010 , 8:19pm
post #1 of 9

I would like to start by saying I am not a licesened or experiened cake-wizard. icon_smile.gif But I could use some help. I am a high school teacher and I will occassionaly make (and donate) cakes for fellow teacher's birthdays and such.

Here is my dilemma, I am making a cake for one of the teacher's birthday but have been unable to find out very much about her likes and dislikes. Her husband (who is also a teacher and asked me to make the cake) left it up to me and her son (who is a student) says she has NO interests what so ever.

All the information I have is that she likes the color blue, is turning 52, she is not very "girly" and wants a spice cake.

Any suggestions on cake ideas would be greatly appreciated. The cake doesn't not have to be a large one. They are only having between 15-20 guests.

Also, i have been searching the recipes for a good spice cake but haven't come up with one yet. Suggestions on that would be appreciated as well.

Thank you in advance!

8 replies
cakeymom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakeymom Posted 13 Jan 2010 , 8:39pm
post #2 of 9

I don't know what your talents are being a, "Newbie". But, I rec'd so many nice compliments, from the person that ordered this cake, and from most that see it, as well. I had full reign.(Which I Love)

It's a present styled cake and if you don't want to have the sides slanted inward or the top slanted downward it would be fine. Just use the fondant accents along with a bow. It's very age appropriate. My MIL loved this cake and she's in her 70's. I would use maybe three variations of blue to add some depth.

Anyway, just a thought.