My Sister Is A Mooch!

Lounge By j_arney Updated 9 Jan 2010 , 7:21pm by DefyGravity

j_arney Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
j_arney Posted 4 Jan 2010 , 8:17pm
post #1 of 22

So I'm making my sister's wedding cake. Since I'm fairly new to decorating, I agreed to make her a full sample. We got the whole family together, made suggestions, and tried the flavors. A few things needed tweaking, but not much.

So a few weeks ago she asks me to bring a cake to a party with the same flavors as one of her layers. I agree. Now she wants me to bring another cake to another party with the exact flavors of the other layers!

My husband has been out of work since July - something she is well aware of. I tell her that I'll do it, but it's really getting expensive and I can't afford to do any more than this. She just doesn't get it!! You'd think family members would be the most understanding, but apparently not in my family.

I imagine we all have stories like this. Anyone with a horrible sister/mother/brother, etc?

21 replies
LaBellaFlor Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LaBellaFlor Posted 4 Jan 2010 , 8:26pm
post #2 of 22

I don't necessarily see her as horrible. You could have easily said no the second and third time. Why you didn't is beyond me seeing as your husband has been out of work since July.

TexasSugar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TexasSugar Posted 4 Jan 2010 , 8:26pm
post #3 of 22

Why did you tell her you would do the first or even second cake for the parties?

FlourPots Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
FlourPots Posted 4 Jan 2010 , 8:32pm
post #4 of 22

You should've simply asked her to pay for the ingredients.

_Jamie_ Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
_Jamie_ Posted 4 Jan 2010 , 8:36pm
post #5 of 22

She's not horrible. You failed to lay down ground rules.

Jaimelt76 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Jaimelt76 Posted 4 Jan 2010 , 8:48pm
post #6 of 22