What Do You Think?

Business By CiNoRi Updated 28 Dec 2009 , 2:50pm by cakesdivine

CiNoRi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CiNoRi Posted 28 Dec 2009 , 2:59am
post #1 of 13

Hi all,

I need your opinions. I am currently playing with my options for working in the business. Long term, I would like to have my own shop/ business, but right now I'm thinking that starting at an established business might be a good start. Like I said, ideally my own business would be wonderful, but right now I am unemployed and would like to get rolling as soon as possible in this career if I'm to make the switch (coming from a graphic design background).

Professionally I have no experience, but personally on my own this last year I have been working on my skills. What I have taken on, I have picked up on very quickly. I think as a level an "apprentice" job with a near move to full "decorator" is where I might be. (I am posting a couple photos of what I have done recently to give you a rough idea. I know I need to work on my piping skills. I have also been working with fondant and am feeling pretty good thus far. All in all time will of course help.) Many of the jobs I have seen for an Apprentice level, ask for your basic kitchen duties, torting, filling, and through the initial icing of cakes. These tasks would be no problem. I thought maybe starting out this way would be a great learning experience.... but I also don't want to limit myself on growth.

As you all know the job market is tough... I have been applying all over from local bake shops to even grocery stores. I really feel that because I don't have a background in cakes "on paper," I'm getting passed over.

What is your opinions on the route I should take? Any insights/ advice?

Also, the other day I received my first response back from a local bakery. It's an Apprentice job, and all in all looks like it would be a nice start. However, in their response about the job they mention me signing a non-compete agreement: