This Is So Much Easier Than That.... (Add To It)

Decorating By JuneBugBaby Updated 24 Dec 2009 , 4:11am by FlourPots

JuneBugBaby Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JuneBugBaby Posted 21 Dec 2009 , 3:05am
post #1 of 53

I am new to the cake baking world and have already made so many mistakes but also found a bunch of little things that have been AH HA moments. I have never taken a class although I've watched tons of videos online as well as gotten some great advice from those here on CC. But I was thinking today how great would it be to have a list of things that are helpful to new people. So I thought I'd make one! So please copy and paste my list and ADD to it with your own tips that will help the new cake bakers (as well as those who would like a few new tricks) out!!

1. It is so much easier to ice and decorate a bigger cake (such as a 12 in.) than a smaller cake (like a mini). When learning work on a bigger surface!

2. It is so much easier to use the cricut tool set when cutting out gumpaste than using things around the house.

3. It is so easier to create your fondant decorations days in advance and freeze them than to try and do it all in one day (expecially for those with children and have little time as is). icon_surprised.gif)

Please add your tips and tricks below!! Thanks for all who want to participate... These are just fun bits of advice and not all tips work as well for some than others. icon_biggrin.gif

52 replies
leah_s Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leah_s Posted 21 Dec 2009 , 3:28am
post #2 of 53

It's so much easier to use SPS than to cut dowels.

Why on earth would you freeze fondant decorations?

chefjulie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
chefjulie Posted 21 Dec 2009 , 3:37am
post #3 of 53

It is sooooo much easier to decorate a cake/ cookies when you give yourself TIME to get it all done and allow for errors!