Cleaning Piping Bags

Decorating By Cathy26 Updated 19 Dec 2009 , 2:50am by SugarFrosted

Cathy26 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Cathy26 Posted 17 Dec 2009 , 6:58pm
post #1 of 12

Hi everyone,

when your piping buttercream how do you get your nylon piping bags really clean? I looked at the disposable ones but for my cupcake shop they are going to work out at about £15 a week which is a bit expensive. At the same time, if i have to use them I will but if there is a way of getting the nylon ones really good and clean then id prefer to use them.

Thanks!!!

11 replies
saapena Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
saapena Posted 17 Dec 2009 , 7:22pm
post #2 of 12

I am just a hobbyist but I throw them in the top rack of my dishwasher--works for me.

indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 17 Dec 2009 , 7:51pm
post #3 of 12

Turn them completely wrong side out and they wash up just fine.

tiggy2 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tiggy2 Posted 17 Dec 2009 , 7:59pm
post #4 of 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by indydebi

Exactly what Debi said!

kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 17 Dec 2009 , 8:31pm
post #5 of 12

..........indydebi wrote:
Exactly what Debi said!.......

I also agree. Turn them inside out & throw them in the dishwasher!
If you don't have a DW, scrub them w/straight detergent and some kind of rough/tough scrubber (plastic netting ball etc); rinse well.

tigerhawk83 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tigerhawk83 Posted 17 Dec 2009 , 8:35pm
post #6 of 12

I switched to the plug/plastic wrap method inside my bags - MUCH less and much easier cleaning

Here's the link from the How Do I forum
http://www.cakecentral.com/cake-decorating-ftopict-588591.html

Once I take the plug out I just turn them inside out to get out the coupler and tip and wipe them clean or throw them in the dishwasher

shannonlovebug Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
shannonlovebug Posted 18 Dec 2009 , 2:44am
post #7 of 12