Urgent! Damask-What's The Easiest Way?

Decorating By TatumCakes Updated 12 Dec 2009 , 4:20pm by bobwonderbuns

TatumCakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TatumCakes Posted 9 Dec 2009 , 7:27am
post #1 of 13

I am making a 6 inch wedding cake that will sit on top of a cupcake tower. The bride wants black damask on light pink fondant. I've never done this before and it is for this Tuesday evening, Dec. 15th.

I can't decide if I should buy a stencil or an edible image, or if I should cut it out of fondant. I will have to overnight whatever I choose to buy, but I need to do it today. What is easiest? I've never done stencil or edible image. Any suggestions? Please Help!

12 replies
delisa01 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
delisa01 Posted 9 Dec 2009 , 7:49am
post #2 of 13

Here is my take for what it's worth (I have never done damask) Because you have so little time to order and practice, I would go with cutting it out of fondant with some tylose mixed it. That seems easiest to me. Good luck!

MissCakeCrazy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MissCakeCrazy Posted 9 Dec 2009 , 12:51pm
post #3 of 13

I have a damask stencil which I have praticed with and still find very difficult. Firstly, is this a round or a square cake? A square cake is obviously easier as the stencil can be laid straight onto the side. A round one would be very tricky. As you are a beginner and you don't have time to perfect this skill, I would roll out thin sheets of pink fondant and concentrate on a certain part of the damask design (like the centre pattern, then I would smear the royal icing on the pettern) and cut these out so they can dry. If it is a round cake, these stenciled pieces will have to dry on a curve so it would fit nicely ont he side of the cake. Lastly, if you are going to use royal icing and paint it black, the icing will be dark blue on the first day you make it. It usually looks darker the next day so I would dye the icing about 2 days before.