Michelle Fosters Fondant Tastes Good But....?

Decorating By JustToEatCake Updated 6 Dec 2009 , 8:11pm by Kerry_Kake

JustToEatCake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JustToEatCake Posted 2 Dec 2009 , 5:55pm
post #1 of 30

But when I put it on my thanksgiving cake EVERY SINGLE person still threw it away!! I think people just like soft, melt in your mouth frosting when it comes to cake. THey tasted it and said it tasted good itself but they didn't want to eat it with their cake.

So since I have ONLY made MF's fondant and not MM fondant I would like to know if working with it is relatively the same because for the cost, and it's going in the trash anyway I rather go that route if it's not too much difference in workability, esp since I am a noob.

Shhh Just a secret, I pulled it off mine too and I think it's delish when I eat it with my fingers!!! icon_rolleyes.gif

29 replies
__Jamie__ Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
__Jamie__ Posted 2 Dec 2009 , 6:14pm
post #2 of 30

That's just it. It really doesn't get any better than MFF. Some people just don't want it, don't want to try it, no way-it's icky I don't care what you say....ya know, you aren't gonna change their minds. And yes, really, cake shouldn't have a chewy covering on it, but it's necessary for certain designs. So go ahead, peel it off, whatever. Lol!

ThreeDGirlie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ThreeDGirlie Posted 2 Dec 2009 , 6:28pm
post #3 of 30

It depends on what you're going for... In my experience, MMF is ever more chewy, so people really aren't going to eat it if they won't eat MFF...

Also, MMF can't be rolled as thin as regular fondant, so it sometimes looks "bulky" when you're tryng to pull off a delicate look (pleating, swags, etc.). So I guess it depends on the application?

Kerry_Kake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kerry_Kake Posted 2 Dec 2009 , 6:37pm
post #4 of 30

I just made MFF the other day but I haven't put it on my cake yet. I always made MMF and it tastes good to but....