Help! Need Ideas For A Welcome Home Cake...

Decorating By nastassia Updated 2 Dec 2009 , 11:37pm by GuinnessTigger

nastassia Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
nastassia Posted 1 Dec 2009 , 6:03pm
post #1 of 9

my friend asked me to make her a welcome home cake for her husband coming back from the military....this needs to be done by tomorrow and I'm still fairly new at this so I need some cute yet not too hard ideas?

please help....! icon_smile.gif

thanks everyone

8 replies
cylstrial Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cylstrial Posted 1 Dec 2009 , 6:26pm
post #2 of 9

Which branch of the military is he in?

If he's in the airforce, you could make a little blue cake with an airplane and spell out welcome home in the clouds.

If he's in the navy, you could make the cake blue and put a ship on it and then spell out welcome home with life vests or whatever else you want.

If he's in the marines or army, you could put one of the military vehicles on it. And spell out welcome home again.

Hope this helps, even though the ideas are all similar.

nastassia Posted 1 Dec 2009 , 6:32pm
post #3 of 9

thank you icon_smile.gif I know i was thinking of trying to do something like that....he's in the army...so to make one of the vehicles would be kinda hard?...idk I'll try icon_smile.gif thanks

now Im just thinking of doing a simple chocolate cake, with (I just seen on here) tootsie roll roses? I assume you make it using the same technique as fondant roses? and I wanna put chocolate covered strawberries on it since its for her sweetie icon_smile.gif I was thinking of using the color fill technique thing for hearts also or I could make the army vehicle u were talking about? what do u think?....or u think I should just stick with the simple cake, since it might be too much going on?

metria Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
metria Posted 1 Dec 2009 , 6:35pm
post #4 of 9

here's a thread from a while back for a camo tutorial: