Want To Make Something Special But Need Advise

Decorating By ECSCOOKS Updated 2 Dec 2009 , 11:59pm by ECSCOOKS

ECSCOOKS Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ECSCOOKS Posted 1 Dec 2009 , 4:14pm
post #1 of 9

hi, i'm usually a lurker and i'm still really new at the decorating, been baking for years and i'm really comfortable with my cake recipes but not the decorating. i usually do buttercream but i really wanted to try something different for xmas and my kids love the grinch. i really really really really want to try something like this:
http://cakecentral.com/modules.php?name=gallery&file=displayimage&pid=1296518

or something with a buttercream transfer like this:
http://cakecentral.com/modules.php?name=gallery&file=displayimage&pid=87305
i've never carved a cake or done fbct. do you think i can actually do this? which cake should i try if i'm a beginner? i've heard carving is really hard but it's easier if you freeze and i've heard fbct can be tricky too. i'm not that much of an artist but i want something really special for my kids. Thanx!

8 replies
Spuddysmom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Spuddysmom Posted 1 Dec 2009 , 4:32pm
post #2 of 9

How adventurous are you? Some people find carving more challenging than others. The transfer idea is a much safer bet, but maybe make a practice carved cake first to see if you feel comfortable attempting the 3D Grinch. If it's just for your kids of course, they'll love anything, but if you are planning to do this for a large group I'd practice.

tinygoose Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tinygoose Posted 1 Dec 2009 , 4:33pm
post #3 of 9

I use cake mix cake to practice carving cakes. At $2 a box it's easy to practice away and not worry about messing up. I usually let my practice cakes sit out for a day uncovered. Mixes have so much moisture in them they can be hard to carve, you may want to stick (after sitting out) it in the freezer / fridge if it is still to hard to cut.