When Do I Draw The Line? Vent!

Decorating By Jeniwin Updated 27 Nov 2009 , 7:08am by mommyle

Jeniwin Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Jeniwin Posted 25 Nov 2009 , 6:11am
post #1 of 17

Ok, so I get an e-mail from this guy who wants a birthday cake for his wife, 120 people, in 3 weeks. . . ding ding. He has drawn up his own sketch design. 4 tiers, 3-D figure of himself jumping out of the cake, qulited fondant with pearls, multi colored everything (lettering, "40", six 2-D figures around the bottom tier). . .and he wants it BIG. He wants a 24" bottom tier icon_confused.gif Um, no.

I asked what budget did he have in mind, to which he replied, "dunno know. I'm new to this cake thing, but I watch those cake shows on Food Network". . . ding ding

So before I get too into it, I tell him I don't do cakes that big, but I can look into a dummy that size, and he can get his "wow factor", and still have 3x the cake he needs. He says "great", so I spend a while writing up a quote. (I have 3 under 3, so it ain't easy getting 30 minutes of quiet) I gave him a price, which I thought might be a little high for this guy. He accepts, to my suprise. Then I get an e-mail next morning telling me it is out of his budget and could we make it 3 tiers to save money.. . ding ding

So I replied "sure", but can you please give me an idea of your budget? And I'm waiting for his reply.

My question is this. At what point do you say "I need to know your budget before we go any further so I'm not wasting my time" without offending him? And should I be leary of anyone with Ace of Cakes as a model?

How many more ding-dings do I need, right? icon_cry.gif

[/i]

16 replies
browniebatterer Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
browniebatterer Posted 25 Nov 2009 , 6:27am
post #2 of 17