Isomalt, Can I Get It Online? Where Do You Get Yours?

Decorating By JCE62108 Updated 28 Nov 2009 , 3:43pm by MYOM-Dominic

JCE62108 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JCE62108 Posted 23 Nov 2009 , 8:02pm
post #1 of 7

I just bought some first impressions molds! Im sooo excited. Its my first time buying from them. A customer wants diamonds on her cake, so I figure isomalt is probably the way to go? Only thing is Ive been looking for it in my area and cant find it. I saw someone on here at one point say to get it at a health food store, but Ive probably tried 8 health food stores and none of them have it. Anyone know where I can get it online for a good price? Does it pretty much melt just like sugar? Ive never worked with this stuff, or even sugar for that matter. Ive read a lot though. I guess that helps.

Sorry I ramble when Im excited. Ok, so...help?

6 replies
__Jamie__ Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
__Jamie__ Posted 23 Nov 2009 , 8:15pm
post #2 of 7

I just found 8 places that sell Isomalt online. Lots of prices to compare.

JCE62108 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JCE62108 Posted 23 Nov 2009 , 8:44pm
post #3 of 7

Eh.Yeah I was hoping someone could give me a suggestion on a place they have used before. Im not so keen on the thought of giving out my card number to a random company on the internet, you know what I mean? That's why I asked. Thank you though. Ill take a closer look at these companies that sell it. Sometimes you just dont know, though.

Sweet_Guys Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Sweet_Guys Posted 24 Nov 2009 , 8:58pm
post #4 of 7

Contact Kathy Scott from Sweet Expressions in Abbeville, SC. She was working on redesigning her website. She may have it back up and running. What I like about her stuff is that she has the Isomalt in blocks that have already been initially cooked. Therefore, all you have to do is microwave the block down into liquid and can store it and reheat at a later time.

Paul