Wanting To Start Making Cakes

Decorating By SweetNSassy1 Updated 16 Nov 2009 , 3:16pm by AmandaGudi

SweetNSassy1 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SweetNSassy1 Posted 16 Nov 2009 , 12:11am
post #1 of 5

I want to start making cakes but I've looked for classes around where I live, and the lady that does them can't do the class because she doesn't have enough people sign up. So I've decided I would just teach myself. But there is just one problem, I don't know where to start.

Could anyone give me some pointers or tips? Or advice on where I should start? Like what things I should start out buying, and all that?

PLEASE HELP! icon_biggrin.gif

4 replies
indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 16 Nov 2009 , 12:36am
post #2 of 5

Many of us are self-taught, so it is possible. CC is the BEST resource for all things cake. I found CC after doing cakes for 25+ years. I thought I pretty much had it down. I've learned more from CC in 3 years than I did in the whole 25 years prior to that!

When I learned, there was no food channel, no cable, no you-tube, no videos ..... I bought a wilton book, some bags and tips and starting reading the how-to section in the wilton books. With the videos 'n such available today, you'll have a much easier time than us oldies did "back in the day"! icon_lol.gif

Basic tips to buy for BC: Writing tip (for drawing lines and writing "happy birthday); star tip (for borders) ... get 2-3 different sizes of this one; a rose tip (a #103 and/or #104); a rose nail; a leaf tip; couplers.

Fondant is like playing with play doh. Since I just work with fondant sporadically, I'll let some regular fondant users give you ideas for what you'll need to work with fondant. I can tell you there are some really cool daisy cutters that you can use to build "layered" daisies that look really neat! (like on my 50th birthday cake, here: http://cakecentral.com/modules.php?name=gallery&file=displayimage&pid=1303013 )