Need A Tutorial On Making A Ruffled Tulip Or Any Tulip!!

Decorating By tarascupcakes Updated 15 Nov 2009 , 2:51am by caseyhayes

tarascupcakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tarascupcakes Posted 13 Nov 2009 , 4:04am
post #1 of 15

I have tried looking and attempting to make this flower for a Twilight cake I have due tomorrow. I couldn't figure it out and usually I can figure things out since I'm mostly self-taught and then I went ALL OVER town trying to find an artificial flower like this one and NEVER found one. There are just poinsettas everywhere! Anyone have a easy tip or know where I can find a tutorial? I have a bunch of the petals already dried with very thin wires in them although they can be pulled out easily. So frustrating! I don't have a cel board or anything like that. HELP!!??
LL
LL

14 replies
cylstrial Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cylstrial Posted 13 Nov 2009 , 12:27pm
post #2 of 15

Here are some awesome instructions on how to make some tulips.

http://dianesdecoratingdiary.blogspot.com/2009/01/gumpaste-tulip-tutorial.html

The only thing that I can think to do for the feathered look - would be to go back and cut each petal with an exacto knife. Good luck!

DianeM Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
DianeM Posted 13 Nov 2009 , 3:46pm
post #3 of 15

To make the tulip petals ruffled, really tool them well, being careful not to shred them. Practice on some thinly rolled out gumpaste before you do it on one of your petals. You may need to use a hard surface and frill, or it may work on a tooling mat. It depends a lot on what your gumpaste is like. Good luck.

sadsmile Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sadsmile Posted 13 Nov 2009 , 4:04pm
post #4 of 15

You need a foam pad and a ball tool( back of small spoon) to thin the edges. Then roll a toothpick over the edges to frill the edges. Keep one end of the toothpick pointed at the center vein of the petal while frilling.

cylstrial Posted 13 Nov 2009 , 5:48pm
post #5 of 15