Newbie Fondant Question

Decorating By cserwa Updated 12 Nov 2009 , 2:22am by CarrieBear

cserwa Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cserwa Posted 11 Nov 2009 , 1:07am
post #1 of 13

HI all,

I'm getting ready to make my first big cake project - a pregnant belly cake. I've researched it, but it's my first time working with fondant and I have a few questions:

1.) Do I need the Wilton fondant roller, or does a rolling pin work just as well? Couldn't I also use PVC pipe? Seems like essentially the same thing for much cheaper than the 22 dollar Wilton fondant roller at Michaels...

2.) Can I cover the display cake board (using 1/2 inch foam board) with something other than fancy foil? If I use something with color (maybe wrapping paper or something), do I simply cover it with clear plastic wrap? Or should I just stick with fancy foil?

3.) Are the Wilton fondant letter cut-outs a bad product? I was going to buy them to spell out CoNGRATS onto the cake, but if they're a total waste, I'll save my money and just skip the fondant lettering...

THANKS TO ANYONE WHO CAN/WILL HELP!!!

12 replies
Texas_Rose Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Texas_Rose Posted 11 Nov 2009 , 1:14am
post #2 of 13

The Wilton fondant roller is nice for picking up the fondant to drape over the cake. It's definitely not necessary. I have one and I don't use it very often for the actual rolling because it's hard on the wrists.

I cover my cake boards with fondant and then glue a ribbon around the edge. It doesn't take much effort but it makes a huge difference in the appearance of the cake. I just roll the fondant directly onto the foamboard, nothing needed to glue it down, it sticks on its own.

ramie7224 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ramie7224 Posted 11 Nov 2009 , 1:20am
post #3 of 13