Sugar Flower Cascade Questions

Decorating By kellertur Updated 10 Nov 2009 , 2:35am by kellertur

kellertur Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kellertur Posted 7 Nov 2009 , 7:43pm
post #1 of 30

I need to make my first cascade of sugar flowers. I will be making callas, sunflowers, carnations, baby's breath, and chrysantemum. The flowers aren't the problem... but I've never done a cascade before.

The tiers are: 6", 8", 12"

How do you figure out how many flowers you need to "fill" the spaces, and are there instructions on how to put this together/attached to cake? I have no idea how to do this...

Thank you.

29 replies
kellertur Posted 8 Nov 2009 , 1:38am
post #2 of 30

anyone please?

PinkLisa Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
PinkLisa Posted 8 Nov 2009 , 1:49am
post #3 of 30

I haven't done it before either but I put sugarflowers around the base of each tier. I would roughly measure the size of each flower and then judge by this how many I'd need. You can either put the wires in coffee stirers or picks, or use royal icing to attach them. Given the large number of flowers, my unexperienced opinion would be RI. Good luck. Hopefully someone else can help you with more experience with this.

dsilbern Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dsilbern Posted 8 Nov 2009 , 1:57am
post #4 of 30

I have never done sugar flowers and am no help. icon_sad.gif Just wanted to post about loving the Bubba Ho-Tep quote! icon_biggrin.gif

kellertur Posted 8 Nov 2009 , 2:02am
post #5 of 30

dsilbern~ yes, that movie gets funnier everytime I watch it. You should try watching it with the commentary turned on. He does the commentary as if he's "Elvis"... hilarious!

I'll keep trying. Thanks, the cake is due Saturday. The flowers are looking great, but I don't want them sliding of the cake... icon_cry.gif

tonedna Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tonedna Posted 8 Nov 2009 , 2:26am
post #6 of 30