How About A Serious Thread About Cake Balls?

Baking By motherofgrace Updated 6 Sep 2013 , 2:29am by MBalaska

amarieholley Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
amarieholley Posted 19 May 2010 , 12:04pm
post #1111 of 1361

Okay so I did not go back and read all 75 pages of this thread, so if this question has already been asked please forgive me icon_smile.gif I was wondering though what else can be used as a binder instead of frosting? All the recipes I have seen on Cakecentral use frosting, but has anyone tried using simple syrup? Just wondering as the frosting seems to make them to sweet for my taste..... I am really new to cake balls but would like to get into them. My daughter fell in love with them at a specialty grocery store the other day and they were getting $4 a piece for them!!!!

deMuralist Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
deMuralist Posted 19 May 2010 , 12:31pm
post #1112 of 1361

I rarely use frosting as my binder, experiment and have fun with it

HowCoolGomo1 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
HowCoolGomo1 Posted 23 May 2010 , 3:35pm
post #1113 of 1361

I apologize if this has been asked and answered, I'm on pg 15 of this thread so I'm trying to find answers on my own. Today, I just don't have the time. Please forgive.

Has anyone used the flat paddle or their kneading hook to mix the binder into the cake crumbs? Also if anyone has the scraping flat paddle, it's yellow with rubber spatula attached have you tried that?

Thanks
MaryAnn

deMuralist Posted 23 May 2010 , 6:19pm
post #1114 of 1361

sorry my previous answer was so short, I was talking and typing and it looks like I stopped typing too soon. For my red velvet cake bites, I use cream cheese with a little bit of powdered sugar. For my coconut cake I mix coconut, coconut milk and powdered sugar in a processor, and use that. I have used liquer (Starbucks coffee) in chocolate cake with no sweetener added at all, it was a very sweet very moist cake and just needed a touch of zing for flavor.