Pet Treats From Home Bakery

Business By CookieMeister Updated 30 Oct 2009 , 7:12pm by MichelleM77

CookieMeister Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CookieMeister Posted 30 Oct 2009 , 5:05pm
post #1 of 8

I'm just getting started with my home-based bakery concentrating primarily on cookies (part-time basis right now while I maintain my day job). Before anyone mentions it - yes, I'm legal in my state. icon_biggrin.gif

I've been making pet treats and cakes for my own dogs for quite some time, and have a friend who owns a dog grooming shop. I've now started to sell in her shop as well, so I thought I'd add that to my repertoire and it's in my marketing.

No problems until I had a potential customer frown upon me making dog treats in the same kitchen I make human food. My dog treats are all natural, with ingredients for human consumption (fruit, cheese, baby food etc.) I don't use any low grade meats or anything like that, and I never bake the dog treats/cakes in the same session as I make human cookies/cakes.

I explained this to her, and she was still very upset. Thought it was unsanitary (like I had dogs running around my kitchen? Which I do not).

I make quite a bit of money with the "pet bakery" portion of my business. Should I be worried about people like her or do you think they are the exception, not the rule? I'm just trying to figure out if I want to carve that back out of my business.

7 replies
keriskreations Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
keriskreations Posted 30 Oct 2009 , 5:16pm
post #2 of 8

I'm going to go out on a limb and say she's not an animal lover? Anyone that has made dog treats, or even read the recipe knows they are safe for humans to eat. Some of the stuff I've made for my dogs smelled so darn good!! Sometimes better than stuff I make for myself to eat! LOL