Lots Of ??'s Sorry So Long

Decorating By scionmom Updated 26 Oct 2009 , 2:46pm by scionmom

scionmom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
scionmom Posted 24 Oct 2009 , 2:49pm
post #1 of 10

Ok... I know that this is a jumpy thread because I have questions on two different cakes. Starting to get very nervous! I am an at home baker for friends and family and havent really done a whole lot. Well, this week I have 2 cakes to do and they are VERY important. I am trying my best to just relax and have fun with them because I kno if I dont I will way overthink them and they will be a big disappointment to me..
Anyways, one of the cakes is a carved Patron bottle. I plan on makin 6 8" squares and carving them after i have stacked them and covering in MMF and painting the label. Well, my questions for this are
1. When I go to cover in MMF do I wrap it or do i try to cover as normal and smooth that way? I am worried that if I do it normally than it is going to tear from the weight, but I have never done the wrap method and that scares me too!
2. I plan on using RKT for the neck and cork of bottle, do i put the dowel through the RKT too or just the cakes? I had thought that I wouldnt even need a dowel but dont want to take the chance of the cakes just sliding off one another.
k... I think thats all for that cake

The other cake i am doing is a 4 tier cake for my husbands promotion... THIS CAKE HAS TO BE PERFECT!!! It is going to be square 12, 10, 8, 6 kinda twisted... and to mention the 6 is going to have to be shaped by me cuz I couldnt find a 6 square locally and dont have time to order... my fault I know.
My questions on this are