Partial Cancellation Of Order What Would You Do?

Lounge By G_Cakes Updated 25 Oct 2009 , 12:47pm by -K8memphis

G_Cakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
G_Cakes Posted 24 Oct 2009 , 7:57am
post #1 of 15

For starters I just want to clarify that I am not a professional baker, I just do cakes for family and friends....all I ask is that they cover the costs of supplies and ingredients...because I really just love to bake.

OK here goes:

I get a call from my SIL Tuesday night saying that she has a friend who needs a birthday cake to feed 30 people and 24 cupcakes.

The cake would be a vanilla cake, iced in BC and covered in Fondant with Fondant flowers and butterfly's. The filling is Vanilla Custard.

The cupcakes are iced with whipped cream and there are 5 different colors that would coordinate with the colors of the cake.

I tell her no problem just cover the expenses of what I have to buy for it, ingredients, cake boards, whipped cream, fondant etc. thumbs_up.gif

Earlier this evening after baking the cake and the cupcakes and making the custard, BC and the decorations; I send my SIL a message asking when I would need to drop everything of to her as she was the one making the delivery....

We end up chatting online and she tells me Noon (later today) and I say sure not problem. She asks me what everything cost and I tell her that I spent $50.00 on supplies....

Well she tells me that this person is on a budget and that this is not good and that she will call this person and make sure it's ok.

Well needless to say she said NO WAY and that she can pick up a cake at costco for less than that (deep breath).icon_mad.gif

But the cake is already baked and the cupcakes are done and decorated. I have 8 cups of Buttercream and already tinted the fondant, and the custard was cooling in the fridge.