Edible Image Questions!!

Decorating By alicialee Updated 20 Oct 2009 , 8:07pm by tiggy2

alicialee Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
alicialee Posted 20 Oct 2009 , 5:13pm
post #1 of 8

I am making a Twilight book, and I ordered an edible image of the front cover. This is my first time working with one. I plan on applying it to fondant. Do I need to place it on white fondant or can I place it on black fondant. The cover of the book is black and I would rather not have the white fondant on top. Also, when I apply it, should I brush some water or vodka on the fondant to make it wet? The Image can with instructions but it is for placing it on buttercream. I'm a little nervous since I only ordered one image, so I only have one shot at this!!! Please help!! Thank you!!

7 replies
bashini Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bashini Posted 20 Oct 2009 , 6:32pm
post #2 of 8

Hi there, as far as I know you can place it on any colour fondant. I have used these and use shortening to stick it on the fondant. I rubbed a very thin layer of shortening and placed the image on the fondant. I used a palette knife to adjust it to the right position. You can spray a mist of water on the fondant and stick the image. But I highly recommend shortening.

HTH. icon_smile.gif

tiggy2 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tiggy2 Posted 20 Oct 2009 , 6:48pm
post #3 of 8

If the background of your image is white the black fondant will show through.

prayerwarrior Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
prayerwarrior Posted 20 Oct 2009 , 6:57pm
post #4 of 8

Hint: Place the image in the freezer for a minute or so for easy release.

alicialee Posted 20 Oct 2009 , 7:10pm
post #5 of 8

Thank you!!! These little hints help ALOT! Im going to go ahead and place it on the black fondant.

KHalstead Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KHalstead Posted 20 Oct 2009 , 7:31pm
post #6 of 8