New To Cake-Ing....how Much Is Enough?

Decorating By liezl8a Updated 20 Oct 2009 , 6:12pm by CutiePieCakes-Ontario

liezl8a Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
liezl8a Posted 20 Oct 2009 , 1:38am
post #1 of 9

Hi Everyone,
I'm fairly new to cakeing (hehe..i love that word)...and I have my first order coming up. I was just wondering , what size cake pan would i use to serve 50 to 60 ppl? I bought one for my Pokemon cake that I made but I don't think that would be big enough. Also, any tips on a better way to get the cake of of the pan?? It was the first time I used a square pan and the first time... when i tried to take my cake out...it broke in half! doh!!

thanks all for your help and inspiration!! =)
liezl

8 replies
indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 20 Oct 2009 , 1:49am
post #2 of 9

here is the wilton wedding serving chart I use for all cakes: http://www.wilton.com/wedding/wedding-cakes/wedding-cake-data.cfm

how do you treat your pans? I grease-only-no-flour (haven't used flour for 30 years); I use bakings strips around the pans and reduce the oven temp.

kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 20 Oct 2009 , 2:01am
post #3 of 9

What size pan To serve 50-60 people will depend on the shape you want to use.
A 12x16x2 sheet = 48 servings; OR a 12x4 (two 2" layers) round = (I think) 56; OR a 10"x4" square (two 2" layers = 50 servings) should do it just fineicon_smile.gif.
Figure 15-20 servings from each cake mix used.
As for getting cake out of pan - let it cool about 10 minutes, then put a cake rack or board or such over pan, turn the whole thing over and remove the cake pan. If it has been greased enough it should fall right out icon_smile.gif

liezl8a Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
liezl8a Posted 20 Oct 2009 , 2:09pm
post #4 of 9