How Long Can A Cake Be Made In Advance?

Decorating By mangotango Updated 21 Oct 2009 , 1:47pm by kakeladi

mangotango Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mangotango Posted 18 Oct 2009 , 7:23pm
post #1 of 11

Hi everyone,
not sure if anyone has done this. but I have to make a 9"cake and 36 cupcakes for this Friday. I was hoping to make the cake covered in fondant on the Wed. Night and then on Thurs. concentrate on the cup cakes. Now my question is " how long in advance can a cake be made and left outside? "
I've never done this before but don't want to pull an all nighter on the Thurs. night. If there is any suggestion it would be greatly appreciated: D
Mango

10 replies
sugarandslice Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sugarandslice Posted 18 Oct 2009 , 8:58pm
post #2 of 11

I think it would depend on what you're using to fill and cover your cake. I use ganache and I know that's completely fine for a few days. I recently did a cake on Thursday for a charity raffle on Saturday night and I know the cake then wasn't eaten until the Tuesday and it was completely fine.

However, if you're using a filling that needs refridgeration then you may have trouble. I don't use shortening-based buttercream but I think that's OK left out too. I'm sure others here, who have more experience with BC, will be able to let you know.

If you're worried about the cake drying out then brush each layer with a simple syrup while you're constructing it.

HTH

kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 18 Oct 2009 , 9:03pm
post #3 of 11

The cake itself will be just fine. No difference than making a wedding cake on Wed or Thrus for a Sat wedding icon_smile.gif
The filling will be the determining factor. Use something that does not need refrigeration - like the sleeved stuff or just fruit jams, etc.