Crumb Coating For Beginner!

Decorating By Nikkisun Updated 17 Oct 2009 , 3:57pm by CarolAnn

Nikkisun Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Nikkisun Posted 15 Oct 2009 , 11:26am
post #1 of 18

I'm new to this cake baking game and have decided to make cakes for my kids birthdays this weekend.

After extensive reading I now realise what a crumb coat is!!

Several questions:

Do I need a crusting bc or non-crusting bc for a crumb coating to go under rolled fondant?

How thick does the coating need to be?

How long do I need to leave between applying the crumb coat and putting on the rolled fondant?

Thanks for reading (I'm sure I'll be back with more questions!!).

17 replies
Rylan Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Rylan Posted 15 Oct 2009 , 11:35am
post #2 of 18

I'm confused about your questions. When you say crumbcoat, do you mean the final icing (under fondant) of the cake? Because crumbcoat is a light layer of icing before the final coat.

Do I need a crusting bc or non-crusting bc for a crumb coating to go under rolled fondant?
-No it doesn't need to be crusting.

How thick does the coating need to be?
-It really depends on you. When I used to use buttercream, it was basically just a thicker crumbcoat.

How long do I need to leave between applying the crumb coat and putting on the rolled fondant?
-Many people have different methods. If I use a crusting buttercream, I will let it crust before I put the rolled fondant--but remember, there are people who just put it right away and they still have perfect looking cakes.

scionmom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
scionmom Posted 15 Oct 2009 , 11:36am
post #3 of 18