Cake Batter Amount For 12X18 Sheet Pan.

Decorating By BakingGirl Updated 24 Sep 2015 , 6:39am by Luv2_bake09

BakingGirl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BakingGirl Posted 13 Oct 2009 , 7:49pm
post #1 of 20

I need to make a castle cake and looking at my various pans I figured the quickest thing for me is to bake a 12x18 sheet cake and cut/stack instead of baking several layers of smaller cakes.

I have never used my 12x18 pan before so I consulted the Wilton batter chart, which makes me a little confused. It says I need 14 cups of batter, which according to their website is the equivalent of approx 3 cake mixes. Is that right?

I don't use cake mixes but most of the scratch recipes I use are about the same amount as one mix.

Also when you bake such a big sheet I assume it is good to throw in a few flower nails. How many would you put in? 2 or 4?

19 replies
pattigunter Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pattigunter Posted 13 Oct 2009 , 7:56pm
post #2 of 20

I use 3 cake mixes for a 12x18. Be sure and post pics of your cake!

cylstrial Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cylstrial Posted 13 Oct 2009 , 8:05pm
post #3 of 20

I think there's around 5 cups of batter in a cake mix. So that makes sense. That would be about 15 cups. Obviously, different brands are going to differ slightly in the amount that the box yields.

PuffCake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
PuffCake Posted 13 Oct 2009 , 8:16pm
post #4 of 20

I use 3 cake mixes in my 12x18x3 pan so I think you're on track for the amount of batter. I use 2 flower nails and it works out fine, but more wouldn't hurt either.

pattycakesnj Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pattycakesnj Posted 13 Oct 2009 , 8:23pm
post #5 of 20

I scratch bake and my chocolate recipe needs 2 for the pan but my vanilla cake needs 2 1/2 recipes so I make 3 and then make cupcakes.

BakingGirl Posted 13 Oct 2009 , 9:09pm
post #6 of 20