Long Range Price Quotes

Business By Nan7070 Updated 13 Oct 2009 , 4:03pm by Nan7070

Nan7070 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Nan7070 Posted 13 Oct 2009 , 2:41pm
post #1 of 6

I'm just starting out doing cakes, mostly as a hobby and for a little extra cash. I was asked for a price quote for a wedding cake for October 2011 for 140. How do I project a quote for something so far ahead?

5 replies
marmalade1687 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
marmalade1687 Posted 13 Oct 2009 , 2:52pm
post #2 of 6

I usually just tell people that I haven't set my prices for that far in advance yet, but based on my prices now, the ESTIMATE would be about $XXX. I have never really booked anything that far ahead...I get a lot of inquiries for people just planning their budget, but you would have to decide on what to do if they did want to book with the understanding that the prices may go up, or if you are going to decide to lock them into that estimate price as an early-bird special. I would be interested to see what other comments are!

sadsmile Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sadsmile Posted 13 Oct 2009 , 3:12pm
post #3 of 6

Just give her the prices you have now per serving for BC, Fondant, flowers ect... and stipulate that prices are subject to change.

cakesdivine Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakesdivine Posted 13 Oct 2009 , 3:18pm
post #4 of 6