Newbie Help For A Spiderman Cake

Decorating By Pickulz Updated 11 Oct 2009 , 4:26am by kimmy37

Pickulz Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Pickulz Posted 10 Oct 2009 , 7:59pm
post #1 of 7

Im making a cake for my sons birthday this weekend..and had a few questions since im new at this...

Im trying to plan everything out...if anyone can help me with any of my questions that would be sooooooooo helpful!!!

1. Can I bake the cakes on tuesday for a saturday party and saran wrap it and freeze it?

2. I want to make a two tier cake (round). Do i need dowels for it? What size pans are good? I wanted a bigger round at the bottom and smaller at the top. (dont have many ppl....maybe 20)

3. I will use buttercream (too scared to try MMF-though I really want to!) Any tips on getting that smooth look. And when can I frost it? The day before?

4. I want to make spiderwebs using royal icing. How far ahead can I make those and how should I store them? And can I attach them to the cake and refigerate the cake?

5. I stacked a cake once before and I worry picking it up and putting it on top of the other -that it might break! How do you lift your frosted cakes?

6. If I try to make fondant buildings, can I easily attach the buildings to the buttercream and still refegerate the cake?

7. Unfortunatley I dont have Americolour Red (which ive read rave reviews about)...I have the Wilton no taste red...can I still get a good red colour?

Here are some cakes I loved and am inspired by...ofcourse cant recreate these...but was hoping to do something to this effect:

http://www.cakecentral.com/cake-photo_1422175.html

http://www.cakecentral.com/cake-photo_588473.html

6 replies
cabecakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cabecakes Posted 10 Oct 2009 , 8:44pm
post #2 of 7