How Do I Choose Fillings For Fondant Cakes?

Decorating By CakeyThings Updated 8 Oct 2009 , 7:33pm by CakeyThings

CakeyThings Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CakeyThings Posted 8 Oct 2009 , 4:34am
post #1 of 9

Hey everyone, this may be a repeat question but I'm still a newbie

I've made a few cakes now and I'm always terrified to fill them with fillings that use stuff with dairy ingredients. Since I've been working with fondant, I can't refrigerate the cakes.....what fillings do you guys recommend for cakes that can't be refrigerated....and how long can they stay out ?

i also plan to make a few cakes when I go home (Trinidad) and it's HOT there so food spoilage really scares me with cakes being left out....

8 replies
bashini Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bashini Posted 8 Oct 2009 , 8:03am
post #2 of 9

Hi there, most of my cakes are filled buttercream and jam. For chocolate, I use ganache mixed into my normal butercream. And the shelf life is 7 days.

But I know ther are decorators who put their fondant covered cakes in the fridge. When you take the cake out to thaw, you shouldn't touch it. Let it come to room temperature.

HTH. icon_smile.gif

PinkZiab Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
PinkZiab Posted 8 Oct 2009 , 11:31am
post #3 of 9

You can refrigerate fondant cakes... I work in fondant 99% of the time (I use Satin Ice) and I refrigerate ALL of my cakes (my fillings require it) and I have never had a problem.

When the weather is very hot and humid, have the air condition cranking when you take the cake out. If the cake starts to sweat just leave it alone until it comes to temperature (you can even put a fan on it). Otherwise, I actually prefer to work with the cakes cold.

Barb1959 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Barb1959 Posted 8 Oct 2009 , 11:39am
post #4 of 9

Bashini - what are your proportions for the ganach and buttercream. I have not filled a fondant cake yet and am anxious to try.