Where Do I Start? Total Newbie!

Decorating By SaraAA Updated 14 Oct 2009 , 1:36am by tatorchip

SaraAA Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SaraAA Posted 7 Oct 2009 , 2:30am
post #1 of 21

Hi everyone, Ive been pondering the idea of how I would love to get into cakes and decorations. Making them not only for myself but eventually a home based business. I know that I have a long way to go but wheres a good starting point for me.

Classes - Ive tried searching for some classes around my area but havent had any luck yet. I live in a pretty small town about 5,000 ppl or so.

So what are some basic equipment, classes, etc to get going with. I will be starting out slow as I do work full time with to little ones but any advice would be greatly appreicated!

Thank you!

20 replies
tatorchip Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tatorchip Posted 7 Oct 2009 , 2:46am
post #2 of 21

Welcome to CC SaraAA
You just started by being a member good start everyone is friendly and helpful
Check out the stickies
read forums ask ask ask anything
check out the recipe section
check out the photos
I think that will help you so much

SaraAA Posted 7 Oct 2009 , 3:11am
post #3 of 21

thank you so much! ill start with that and get to reading. icon_smile.gif

SaraAA Posted 7 Oct 2009 , 3:24am
post #4 of 21

i do have one question, can someone help me see if there is a topic that talks about basic supplies for a home based business as in mixer, spatulas, etc? im having no luck, thanks!

Texas_Rose Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Texas_Rose Posted 7 Oct 2009 , 3:28am
post #5 of 21

The first thing you need to do is find out if your state licenses homebased bakeries...I'm in TX and they don't here icon_sad.gif

paulstonia Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
paulstonia Posted 7 Oct 2009 , 3:31am
post #6 of 21

sorry saraAA but in Ca. you cannot sell cakes out of your home. But don't let it discourage you, it's still a great hobby.

SaraAA Posted 7 Oct 2009 , 3:33am
post #7 of 21