Rose Cutters

Decorating By FleurDeCake Updated 6 Oct 2009 , 5:41pm by peg818

FleurDeCake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
FleurDeCake Posted 5 Oct 2009 , 7:30am
post #1 of 6

Hi my caking friends. i am really new to the sugar art world and i am making my first wedding cake for my daughter. I need to make lots of roses and am trying to purchase the right cutters for the most realistic rose. i foung some PME rose leaf cutter plunger at GSA . what I need to knowis how wexactly is this cutter used . Any and all help appreciated. TIA

5 replies
sugarandslice Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sugarandslice Posted 5 Oct 2009 , 7:43am
post #2 of 6

I don't know about that particular cutter but you will definitely find some useful tutorials on Youtube. Just do a search for "gumpaste rose" and you'll see a few different techniques, have a practice and see which one works for you!
HTH
icon_smile.gif
Emma

CandyCU Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CandyCU Posted 5 Oct 2009 , 10:03am
post #3 of 6

Hi, is it the PME Rose Leaf Plunger Cutter/Veiner Set of 3 (product ID #1741icon_cool.gif that you've bought or looking at buying? That cutter will cut out single rose leaf with veining on the top side only, not on the underside. I think you'll probably need to buy some rose petal cutters to make the roses themselves, the sizes you buy depends on the size of the roses you want to make, there are so many different ones from individual petal cutters, the five in one petal cutters, plastic, metal. Personal choice really. I like to use the individual metal rose petal/leaf cutters & then use the veiners that does both the top & undersides of the petals/leaves. This way they look a little more realistic & I can position every single petal where I want on the bud.

I'm sure there are many others who do their roses much better & differently to me & who probably have more experience than I do, who can probably give you better advice.