Using Ganache Instead Of Buttercream Questions

Decorating By gloria Updated 2 Oct 2009 , 2:43pm by __Jamie__

gloria Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
gloria Posted 1 Oct 2009 , 3:50am
post #1 of 13

I'm making a cake with fondant that will have a chocolate bavarian cream filling.
I have never used ganache before. A couple questions.

How thick should the ganache be (replacing buttercream crumbcoat)?
Do I still put a buttercream dam for the filling?

Any good suggestions for using ganache as a crumbcoat?

12 replies
Kitagrl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kitagrl Posted 1 Oct 2009 , 4:04am
post #2 of 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by gloria

I'm making a cake with fondant that will have a chocolate bavarian cream filling.
I have never used ganache before. A couple questions.

How thick should the ganache be (replacing buttercream crumbcoat)?
Do I still put a buttercream dam for the filling?

Any good suggestions for using ganache as a crumbcoat?

You should probably use a nice thick ganache dam....and then just have the ganache cooled to a nice icing texture to ice the cake.

Another thing I've done is make a whipped ganache, that makes a nice icing as well. I think there are recipes somewhere around here for that.

__Jamie__ Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
__Jamie__ Posted 1 Oct 2009 , 4:05am
post #3 of 13

Most of us (I think) skip damming and crumbcoating when using ganache. I do anyways. The ganache when set, is quite sturdy and doesn't allow for bulging. But....I'm thinking Bavarian Cream may be a bit too loose and you just may want to dam in this case. You can dam with ganache!

As for crumbcoating, I never do with regular BC and I never do with ganache. Especially since I only do this for fondant covered cakes, I don't get excited over a few crumbs being visible in the icing. Now with a BC only cake, I take care NOT to pull up crumbs that would be visible. Very very picky about that.

sugarandslice Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile