Wilton Cake Decorating Classes

Decorating By Ashlynn Updated 11 Oct 2009 , 10:49pm by ksmith1012

Ashlynn Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Ashlynn Posted 29 Sep 2009 , 10:12pm
post #1 of 16

I'm a cake decorating newbie. I decided to sign up for the Wilton Cake decorating class course at Michaels that starts next month. Has anyone taken it and did you like it? Any tips?

Thanks a bunch! Happy Baking icon_smile.gif

15 replies
lckyforme Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lckyforme Posted 29 Sep 2009 , 10:55pm
post #2 of 16

I have take 1-3 and really liked them. The first class was pretty busy because we had to have a cake each week. I have learned a lot and look forward to taking fondant adn gumpaste. I don't have the nerve to post it here with all of the professional cakers here, but everyone at work LOVED them and my tiered cake was beautiful. Take the class, you'll love it!!

CrankyCakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CrankyCakes Posted 29 Sep 2009 , 11:19pm
post #3 of 16

I took the classes but stopped at the second level. It became easier to just teach myself (and I was starting culinary school). They helped a lot and definitely got me started decorating. You learn a lot of basics that you can build on. The only thing I wish was different was the fondant class, when I took it the class was only one sitting. Definitely left you wanting more. Have fun and Good luck!

taygetta Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
taygetta Posted 29 Sep 2009 , 11:32pm
post #4 of 16

Ashlynn where in Ohio are you taking your classes?

AnnaJo Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AnnaJo Posted 29 Sep 2009 , 11:47pm
post #5 of 16

I took all 4 classes I loved it I had fun and it got me going. Now if I don't make a cake every week I feel lost. icon_razz.gif If you like baking you enjoy the classes.

2SchnauzerLady Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
2SchnauzerLady Posted 29 Sep 2009 , 11:55pm
post #6 of 16

Hi AnnaJo, I'm from VaBch, too!