Fondant Accents On A Buttercream Covered Cake...

Decorating By CandyCU Updated 27 Sep 2009 , 10:14pm by indydebi

CandyCU Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CandyCU Posted 27 Sep 2009 , 6:16am
post #1 of 6

Hello fellow decorators! I'm still a newbie at this so I don't know if this topic has already been covered... if so, please let me know & lead me to the answer.

I've tried putting fondant accents onto a buttercream covered cake but when the buttercream warms up a bit the fondant starts to slide. If I try to refridgerate it after decorating with fondant to harden the bc up again, when I pull the cake out again & let it sit, the fondant goes all shiny & gooey. Aaarrrgghh! What am I doing wrong?

When I make cakes this is the process I follow: bake cake, cool in tin, fill cake & refridgerate, trim outer if necessary, crumb coat with bc & refridgerate, final bc coating & refridgerate (or cover in fondant no refridgeration), then decorate. Is this pretty much the way it goes, I'm mostly self taught, taken a few classes, have learnt through trial & error & by reading up on the topic.

Any advice would be very much appreciated!

5 replies
brincess_b Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
brincess_b Posted 27 Sep 2009 , 8:51am
post #2 of 6

is your bc maybe too soft to start with?
im not sure all the refridgeration is needed either. some people do it, but you can skip it. might be worth an experiment.
xx

drakegore Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
drakegore Posted 27 Sep 2009 , 2:39pm
post #3 of 6

what kind of bc are you using?
i use fondant decorations on bc all the time and have never had this happen. i use smbc. if you are using a crusting bc, perhaps your timing or method of attachment could be the problem (i am not very experienced with crusting so i can't help there, i am sorry).

are your decorations being rolled thin? if they are too thick, the weight of them could be working against you.

i fridge mine before i put the decorations on and after.