Help! Over My Head!

Decorating By amyv123 Updated 1 Oct 2009 , 3:55am by amyv123

amyv123 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
amyv123 Posted 22 Sep 2009 , 2:07am
post #1 of 29

Hi all--
I have a wedding cupcake order due on Friday. The bride has decided she wants an orange lily, like these, http://www.geneburch.com/gallery/d/1491-3/Orange_Lilies.jpg
on each one.
I have zero experience with gumpaste, so I'd prefer to use fondant. And I need to make 200 of them!
I have the flower cutter kit from Wilton, and I'm thinking there's a cutter in there for the petals. But how in the world do I make the stamen? Or do I leave them out? I'm trying to stay calm.....
Thanks in advance!

28 replies
aquamom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
aquamom Posted 22 Sep 2009 , 2:17am
post #2 of 29

Good luck--here's a bump.

Bunsen Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Bunsen Posted 22 Sep 2009 , 2:22am
post #3 of 29

I haven't made those types of lilies so can't offer advice on those - I'm sure others can - but with regard to gumpaste it handles the same as fondant just dries quicker, which is a good thing when making flowers. nothing to be scared of and will make your life easier. 200 of any flower is a lot of work, and very short notice if the bride has only just requested this - don't be afraid to tell her it can't be done, or recommend that they go on every other cupcake.

kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 22 Sep 2009 , 2:24am
post #4 of 29

The cutter in that set is going to make super big flowers for cupcakes icon_sad.gif
If you do make them yes, leave off the stamen OR
just use dry spaghetti pieces.

There is no difference in how to work between gumpaste and fondant. After all, gp is basically fondant w/a drying gum addedicon_smile.gif That makes it easier to roll the dough thinner. Otherwise the two are (almost) the same.

Texas_Rose Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Texas_Rose Posted 22 Sep 2009 , 2:24am
post #5 of 29