Please Help Me With Pricing I Am New At This

Decorating By 1456 Updated 15 Sep 2009 , 11:51pm by indydebi

1456 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
1456 Posted 15 Sep 2009 , 12:30pm
post #1 of 12

hello everyone i am new at selling my cakes i always just did them for family , my issues is a bride wants a price on a two tier cake 6" and 4" with callla lillies plus 300 cupcakes each with a gum paste calla lillie, what would you charge for this much work , Please help she want a answer right away

11 replies
cylstrial Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cylstrial Posted 15 Sep 2009 , 12:48pm
post #2 of 12

That's a lot of work!

I'm not sure what shape the 4" and 6" cakes are. So the price would obviously change if there are more slices. And I'm not sure if they are fondant or buttercream.

I would say at least $1.00 for each calla lilly - for the ones on the cake and the cupcakes.

For the cupcake - probably $3.00 plus the cost of the calla lilly. So total $4.00 for each cupcake.

Again, for the cake I'm not sure how many servings. But I would say $3.00 for buttercream and $4.00 for fondant. I'm gonna guess it's about 16 servings. So $48 for buttercream and $64 for fondant. Plus the calla lillies on the cake.

You are looking at a pretty big order.
cupcakes @ $4.00 each = $1200.00
cake = around $48 to $64 + the cost of the calla lillies on the cake. So another $20 bucks or so.

Around $1300.00.

brincess_b Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
brincess_b Posted 15 Sep 2009 , 12:53pm
post #3 of 12

you need to sit down and calculate your costs (ingredients, gas for going to the store, small things like kitchen roll and clingfilm, things like electricity/ gas/ water), then you need to put a price on your time- at least minimum wage. then you need to think about what other places in your area charge for custom designed cakes.