Buttercream Not Smooth

Decorating By carmycakes Updated 15 Sep 2009 , 12:24pm by carmycakes

carmycakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
carmycakes Posted 14 Sep 2009 , 2:28pm
post #1 of 8

Help, the BC does not look smooth once on the cake. It then starts to harden and is hard to spread. How can i get it looking smooth?

thanks

7 replies
matthewkyrankelly Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
matthewkyrankelly Posted 14 Sep 2009 , 2:41pm
post #2 of 8

Have you tried chilling the cake and using a warmed spatula?

carmycakes Posted 14 Sep 2009 , 3:18pm
post #3 of 8

Thanks. So after I frost, I chill the cake or chill cake before frosting? This is my first time ever making and using BC.

step0nmi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
step0nmi Posted 14 Sep 2009 , 3:28pm
post #4 of 8

What you do is frost the cake as you wish...get it as smooth as you can. Then, put it in the fridge for about 10-15 mins (no longer) and when you pull your cake out get some really hot water into a large cup, dip your spatula in it, tap off excess water, then smooth away! You will be amazed at how well this works.

Good luck on your first BC cake! icon_biggrin.gif

Normita Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Normita Posted 14 Sep 2009 , 3:38pm
post #5 of 8