Taste Of Black Icing

Decorating By happigolucki35 Updated 14 Sep 2009 , 8:32pm by tiggy2

happigolucki35 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
happigolucki35 Posted 12 Sep 2009 , 12:24pm
post #1 of 8

Im new to cake baking and decorating, is there any way to make black icing taste better. I use the Wilton gel colors.

7 replies
dstbni Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dstbni Posted 12 Sep 2009 , 12:34pm
post #2 of 8

I've had good luck when I start with Chocolate Buttercream and add the black to it.

bbmom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bbmom Posted 12 Sep 2009 , 12:36pm
post #3 of 8

I usually use baking cocoa to darken my icing or frosting as much as I can first, then I'll add just enough black to make it bkac. It still has a taste to it, but not as bad. And remember that the wilton colors will darken after a few hours so if thats what you're using do a test...after you've gotten it to a color lighter than what you think, put a smear on a white plate and let it dry for 15mins and see what it looks like. I like Americolor gel colors you dont seem to have to add as much, but for black its still quite a bit. Depending on what you're doing you may also be able to use the spray(if your coloring the background of a whole cake for in stance,)

auntbeesbaking Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
auntbeesbaking Posted 12 Sep 2009 , 12:53pm
post #4 of 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by happigolucki35

Im new to cake baking and decorating, is there any way to make black icing taste better. I use the Wilton gel colors.

I have found that if I add a bit of clear corn syrup to the black frosting it takes away the bitterness. I actually do this for any of the darker colors - the reds, greens, etc.

Welcome to cake decorating! icon_smile.gif

PuffCake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
PuffCake Posted 12 Sep 2009 , 1:19pm
post #5 of 8

Switch to Americolor if you can. Their Super Black has no bitter taste at all AND requires less color to achieve a deep dark black color.