Help My Cakes Aren't Tall Enough!!!

Decorating By kakbiz Updated 11 Sep 2009 , 9:49pm by vinman9

kakbiz Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakbiz Posted 11 Sep 2009 , 7:53pm
post #1 of 8

How do you get your cakes 2" tall. No matter what I do my cakes always seem to be 1" around the edges and doomed in the middle. Or the whole cake is about 1 1/2". I use box mixes and for a 11 x 15 pan I use 2 cake mixes and its still not tall enough. I have tried not mixng it to much and reducing the cooking tempature, but they still come out flat.

7 replies
prterrell Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
prterrell Posted 11 Sep 2009 , 8:15pm
post #2 of 8

I have been baking for almost 24 years. One of the reasons I switched to baking from scratch only is the reduction in quality of the boxed mixes. It used to be that one box of BC or DH cake mix would make a nice tall 9x13 or 2 layers of 8 or 9 inch round cake. IMHO that is no longer the case. This is one of the reasons that so many bakers who still use box mixes use extenders or add things, so that the box mix is the base of the recipe, but not the entire thing. I have had much better luck baking from scratch with having the recipe actually bake the amount of cake it says it will and the cake bake tall and even.

If you want to stick with boxed mixes, you may want to check out the many extender recipes on this site, the should help you out!

indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 11 Sep 2009 , 8:25pm
post #3 of 8

What brand of cake mix are you using? Different brands have different yields. I use 2 Betty Crockers in the 11x15 with good results.

I also grease-only-no-flour my pans ( learned almost 30 years ago that my cakes rose higher with no flour); I use baking strips (to cool the pans so that the sides of the cake don't bake faster than the center of the cake, which can result in 1" sides and big giant doming); I reduce the (home) oven temp to 325 (shop oven is set lower).