Help!!! First Timer

Baking By alicialee Updated 8 Sep 2009 , 10:37pm by alicialee

alicialee Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
alicialee Posted 7 Sep 2009 , 8:50pm
post #1 of 17

so this is my very first time making cookies. I've been making cakes for 3 years now, but I've never tried cookies. I make NFSC today and they came out of the oven fine... I guess. They were a little hard and crunchy, and I even took them out before the edges browned. The worst part about the whole day is when I tried to ice them. I'm making fall leaves, so I tried toba's glace and used a toothpick to blend fall colors in. It was a complete headache! I put a border on my cookies with bc and then filled them in with the toba's glace.... needless to say, I HAD A MESS!!! The glace went all over the place... and the icing STILL isn't dry (and I made them 8 hours ago)

Can someone please please help me!!! I'm doing 250 cookies for a wedding the beggining of october, and I'm starting to think I shouldn't have taken this order!!!

AH!

16 replies
Texas_Rose Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Texas_Rose Posted 7 Sep 2009 , 9:02pm
post #2 of 17

I use fondant on my cookies...that would work especially well for fall leaves because you could marble together the different colors, and use a toothpick to add the veins to the leaves.

I'm guessing the reason that your cookies didn't dry is because you put buttercream on as a border...the grease in buttercream will break down royal icing.

grammynan Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
grammynan Posted 7 Sep 2009 , 9:04pm
post #3 of 17

I think you want to use royal icing - thick for the outline and thinner for filling in.

varika Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
varika Posted 7 Sep 2009 , 9:28pm
post #4 of 17