Simply Get A Cake Out Of The Pan, Or Done Or ????

Decorating By dcallar Updated 7 Sep 2009 , 11:57pm by sweetreasures

dcallar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dcallar Posted 7 Sep 2009 , 5:12am
post #1 of 13

I'm new at this...I've researched, I've watched videos....I'm got practice supplies...I so can't wait to do this.....Today I made 6 different cakes. The first two feel apart when I tried to get them out. Yes, I waited the 10 minutes....the next two (different receipe) same thing. Last two...different receipe yet....1st one great...second one...edge ripped out. I crisco and flour and I use the cake stripes and I use the rose nail to get even cooking...I think I was about ready to cry. I see all your pics and the tiered cakes and that's 8 cakes or so...and I just want 2 single layers to make a cake to decorate. HELP. what is up?

12 replies
G_Cakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
G_Cakes Posted 7 Sep 2009 , 5:54am
post #2 of 13

I use a home made cake release which I found the recipe for here on CC, and since then I have never had a problem getting a cake out of the pan.

1 cup Flour
1 cup Oil
1 cup Shortening

Mix all three together with mixer until completely incorporated.

Store in and air tight jar and keep in the fridge.

Brush it onto your pans then bake as usual. I promise you will never want to use anything else after you try this recipe.

HTH

indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 7 Sep 2009 , 5:55am
post #3 of 13

Be sure you generously coat the pans. (I grease-only-no-flour and have done it that way for 30 years. I noticed less sticking to the pan from day one.) I've observed folks trying to save a few pennies and put a thin coat of pan-coating on the pan. don't be afraid of using this stuff. Really coat those pans.

I've never personally tried this, but many MANY folks on here have had wonderful results with lining the cake pan with parchment paper.