Help!!! Mortgage Burning!

Decorating By jekizer Updated 25 Aug 2005 , 3:17am by karent

jekizer Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jekizer Posted 23 Aug 2005 , 10:01pm
post #1 of 14

I have an order for a mortgage burning cake. thumbs_up.gif They want it to feed 150 and be three layers with filling! icon_eek.gificon_confused.gif Now, I am trying to find some good ideas for this massive cake. Any ideas out there?

13 replies
debsuewoo Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
debsuewoo Posted 23 Aug 2005 , 10:09pm
post #2 of 14

What about being topped with a roll of fondant that is made to look up like a rolled up peice of paper and have a fondant lighter with flame touching the paper? You can put a ribbon around the rolled up fondant that says 'mortgage'

Debbi

jekizer Posted 23 Aug 2005 , 10:15pm
post #3 of 14

That is a great idea. I need to practice with fondant. I have never worked with it before. It is intimidating to me for some reason. Thanks for the suggestion.

Maybe this is what I need to get over my fear of fondant. icon_smile.gif

JennT Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JennT Posted 23 Aug 2005 , 10:19pm
post #4 of 14

Or you could do fondant in the shape of a piece of paper and use diluted black coloring to paint the title "Mortgage" on the top (get out your own mortgage for reference!! lol) and then just do some painting to replicate typing down the rest of it....then take bc and pipe on some flames at the bottom of it in red/orange/yellow...all on top of a sheet cake.

Better yet, you could do an edible image of the mortgage and then pipe on the bc flames!

Just some jumping off points....HTH icon_biggrin.gif

jekizer Posted 23 Aug 2005 , 10:23pm
post #5 of 14

I have thought that I would make the top of the sheet cake look like the actual mortgage... and then put the black edges around the entire thing to make it look like it had been burned?

I don't know.... I am stuck on this one.